Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

French anti-spam measures dumping non-French language emails sent to .fr addresses

We have just struggled with this on the Paris fly-in emailings. A near 100% “rejected as spam” bounce rate became 100% non-bounce once the subject+message body were in French.

Interestingly there seems to be a blacklist (a bit like the RBL one) so if you hit one of these addresses, everything else gets bounced after that, and it sticks for some days. A French friend on free.fr who I have been emailing with for more than 10 years got them dumped too. For those who are into this, SPF is validated.

I wonder how this will affect PNR stuff like this:

and hundreds of others, all over the French AIP…

These outfits are not going to be getting much.

I can see this is an effective antispam policy because most spam is in English… It is about as “smart” as Gmail’s usual dumping of emails containing just one word.

I guess, use Google Translate when you email regarding PNR

Or back to fax

Administrator
Shoreham EGKA, United Kingdom

… or ask for a (standard) translation on this forum, where several French-speakers are willing to help…

BTW my own internet service provider has been very succesful at keeping my mailbox spam-free, yet recently I see a flood of French-language spam. They too might have double vigilance against English-language spam.

EBZH Kiewit, Belgium

I am doing a mailing about the Greek fly-in and again getting loads of .fr addresses bouncing. What a strange policy. The bounces include people I have known for years and corresponded with many times.

Administrator

I had one returned recently with the following message:
5.5.0 80.12.242.135 is blacklisted by FortiGuard. This email from IP has been rejected. The email message was detected as spam.
This was interFrance with a regular correspondent.
Simon

Last Edited by simon32 at 21 Aug 06:40

Curiously, I don’t see that detailed message. It just says “rejected as spam”.