Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Why I don't use Air Navigation Pro software in any serious way...

I use Air Navigation Pro on my Mac to look at charts on screen. It has its uses like that.

The general interface however, in my opinion, remains largely opaque and full of cludges (I have an IT degree…some things I just can’t work out how to do on Air Nav Pro.)

I am currently planning a flight to the Netherlands so I just purchased the Netherlands VFR charts on Air Nav Pro…on second attempt…I think I may have had to pay twice. The AirNavPro software says it downloaded the chart and shows it in my list of “installed products” within the software with a little green circle next to it. Great.

However, when I go to normal chart view all my UK charts appear and as I pan to the east the charts disappear. The Netherlands chart doesn’t appear at all. Nothing. Blank screen space. 25 pounds spent for nothing.

Moreover, AirNavPro tells me that the Dutch airspace data is a free download. Excellent! I try to download that data in precisely the same way as the Netherlands chart and the software tells me that I can’t download it because that data “needs to be managed through your AirNavPro account”. I have such an account. I have no idea what the message means. Why is there any restriction on a registered user (me) downloading what the product says is a free download??

For the above reasons and others, I won’t let AirNavPro near my aircraft. It has to stay on the ground at my home on a Mac for very occasional use. It doesn’t ever accompany me flying. In my opinion the user interface is about as unintuitive as could possibly be the case. Some years ago I thought this software looked like hobbyist-written software. My opinion has changed very little. It’s such a pity, because flying with geo-referenced charts would be a blessing.

Hurrmph!

Howard

Last Edited by Howard at 24 Nov 23:17
Flying a TB20 out of EGTR
Elstree (EGTR), United Kingdom