Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

A little light human factors stuff...

Let me start with a bit of context:

I’m a modest little instructor, teaching modest VFR stuff at a modest little airfield in France. We fly modest little aeroplanes. No bullsh*t skygod stuff Oh, and I’m a woman. That shouldn’t make a difference. But it just might. Sometimes.

I’ve just been chatting to a colleague instructor, also a woman (can you see where this is going? )

Here’s the story I had to tell her:

6 weeks ago, my mother died. I received this news with sadness, but calmly. My mother hadn’t been part of my life for over 10 years (long story). During the day I sent an SMS to my colleague instructor to let him know (but asking him to treat the information confidentially).

That evening I had an instruction flight lined up.

Perfect weather. Lovely evening. I was looking forward to it.

The student arrives. I greet him with a smile (and obviously not saying anything about my personal circs).

A few minutes later, my student takes a call. Chats for a few minutes then comes back looking confused.

“Oh, I’ve just heard a friend has been taken ill, we have to leave immediately…human factors and all that..” Sheepish smile from him.

I put him at ease. Tell him not to worry. We put the aircraft away.

But all the time I’m thinking – Sure thing that was the other instructor telling him not to get in the aircraft with me!.

I keep it to myself. Hey, I’m a nice girl (err, woman). Oh well, he was only trying to help. And anyway, I can’t be sure.

Time passes. I fly with my stude again, several times. A couple of days ago, with a laugh, I put it to him – Hey, Florian, that was a call from the other instructor you took, wasn’t it?

He smiles, looks embarrassed and refuses to say anything, so I know.

My instructor colleague was beside herself.
Perhaps I should be, too?.
Isn’t the “Fit to fly?” decision up to me? It should be, I think.