Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Benefits of Instrument Rating at non-IFR field

Hi everyone,

I recently found and joined this community in my search of getting more information about the Instrument Rating.

I’m a rookie pilot and passed for my PPL beginning of this year. Since then I guess I have been infected by the well known ‘virus’ and it feels like I’m not done with learning yet. Experience will come with the hours but I was also looking at more training options with a special interest for the instrument rating.

I have a couple of doubts / thoughts / questions about this rating.

Getting the rating will definitely improve my knowledge about the other aspects of flying. Besides that I aspect it will also improve my airwork and makes me a better and safer pilot?

But will I fully benefit with the rating since my home field is a green non-IFR field (EHHV)? From my understanding you will still need VMC to pickup IFR after take-off and of course for landing.

I’m wondering if weather is CAVOK do you still fly IFR because of the guidance / separation by ATC or do you choose VFR so you are more free and flexible where to go?

I guess with the rating you will make a trip more easier to a foreign field but that is my assumption?

When I decide to start the training do you recommend to go for the fully ATPL theory or the new 7 subjects course. I might like to get my CPL in the near future, no commercial ambitions for now though. Not sure if I can get my IR and CPL in 36 months because I have only 50 PIC hours when starting the IR course.

(BTW I do have a share on a fully IFR equipped Piper Archer III.)

Lot of questions but I’m looking forward to hear your thoughts, experiences and opinions!

QNH
EHHV