Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Cannulas and how they work.

I am still very new to cannula delivered O2 and, frankly, still a little confused.

I have an eight place cabin class aircraft, so cannot individually supervise the health and sats of every passenger.

We have three O2D2s, one for P1 and P2, and one each side for the pax in rows 2 and 3. (We decided that we would never be eight-up in a cruise, so we haven’t equipped the rearmost two seats.)

Flying for the first time with my wife using O2, we decided that she would sit in P2 so I could supervise her. (She usually sits in Row 2, without headphones, and reads).

Many times on the outbound journey we got the rapid de-de-de-de alarm, and I looked in the manual and interpreted it as low input pressure, so turned the cylinder up to the maximum permitted by MH, 1.7 bar. I also gave her a flared cannula, which seemed to work better for her.

This seemed to make things a little better, but we still got the alarm from time to time, and my wife was getting anxious*, so I limited our altitude to 150 and very regularly checked both our sats. I was solid at 92 and she at 98 (sic, 98).

Before the return journey, I carefully checked that none of the pipes was crushed or kinked and the pressure right up at 1.7 bar, and we flew back at 130 to reassure her that there was no possibility of conking out (she has flown hundreds of times at 130 without O2). This was to remove any panic-induced effects.

On the way back we still got a few alarms and I did some experimenting:

1. all the alarms were coming from her LED
  2. she mainly got the alarms when she was talking, and we worked out that when she is speaking she mouth breathes
  3. my sats were better with straight cannula tips than flared