Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

FAA IR to EASA IR - practical experience 'using the system' and finding an ATO/FI for training

Hello all,

I have an FAA IR with enough hours to qualify for the FAA to EASA conversion so I am looking into the process. The problem is all my IMC time comes from flying in the States. I have no experience flying in the European IFR “system”.

My question is where does one find a training organization that can teach how to use the system from a practical standpoint? Although a few hours shooting approaches would be beneficial, what I really need is a couple of trips through France and/or Germany to see how to work the system. I understand there is no requirement for training, however I am sure I would fail the checkride showing up with no experience.

Anyone have any recommendations or contact details for a freelance Flight Instructor or ATO that isn’t an ATP mill? Living in the States there were a few freelance guys around that specialized in owner-aircraft advanced training; that would be my preferred method of training.

Also, as I will eventually return to the US, I don’t really want to lose my FAA licenses. Is it a conversion, i.e. you surrender your FAA license? or just a piggyback to your FAA license?

Thanks, -Jason

Great Oakley, U.K. & KTKI, USA

question is where does one find a training organization that can teach how to use the system from a practical standpoint?

Point is: if you want to learn something of practical relevance, you can’t go to an “organization”.

You need to find a good instructor with loads of IFR Piston aircraft experience in both “systems”, able to tell the differences. Almost impossible to find such people within flight schools…

Mainz (EDFZ) & Egelsbach (EDFE), Germany