Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Filing FPL

Hi, this is my first post.

I am a French pilot based in Orleans, 60Nm south of Paris. I have my own plane, a DR-400 (I’m French ;-)) that I share with 2 other pilots.

I love to fly especially cross-border. Whenever I cross a border (the UK, Jersey and Belgium for now), I always have some trouble with my Flight Plan, so I would like to share my experience and see what others have to say.

My recent experiences :
- on my way back from Ostend, I filed my FPL with the French website Olivia for a flight from EGOS to LFOZ. Ostend never received it even though they could see it in Paris and I had to file a new FPL with Brussels and this confusion kept me 2 hours in Ostend

- on my way back from th UK, I filed my FPL on euroFPL, a website claiming to send the FPL to the correct people on time. It was from EGSC to LFOX. They got it OK in both airports but when I crossed the channel, once in France, the contdoller from Lille told me he hadn’t received it, and that I was supposed to include a local airport like Calais in the route for the FPL to reach him.

So what is the best way to file an FPL ?

Thank you for your help, and great website btw

Fred

LFOZ Orleans, France, France

Bienvenu Frédéric!

VFR flight plans is a never ending story in Europe.

In addition to Olivia and eurofpl, there are also Skydemon and Rocketroute. However, all of them seem to make problems with VFR flight plans occasionally. Often, it is not the fault of these services, but of people involved in the workflow downstream (BRIA/ARO/AIS).

One thing you can do is to use a software which allows users to manually add AFTN addresses and then do all the final addressing yourself (thus precluding any humans from the FPL distribution process). This, however, is not the correct procedure in many countries (it is for flights departing in the UK) and in those cases, it might cause other problems. I go into this subject more in detail