Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Flying in Albania/Kosovo/Macedonia

Greetings everyone! A friend showed my this forum. I am a pilot in the US, and I visit Albania each year to visit family (I’m of Albanian heritage). I’ve always thought wouldn’t it be nice to fly in the area? Unfortunately, not much info is available. At best I have outdated Jeppesen approach plates, Skyvector’s sectionals (which I find somewhat shady and lacking but thats just me!). I’m wondering if anyone has any information about the region. I have a friend who has a Cherokee in Macedonia as well as a flying club with US registered planes in Skopje, but I’m more interested in local procedures as the best I can find is an article from 2006 of flying IFR to Tirana. What are local procedures in the area? Does LATI have high GA fees (this article from 2006 indicates they do)? Are other airports in the country (There is an ex-air force base up north, Gjader and the UAE build an airport in Kukes) GA friendly? I have the same questions for Kosovo (BKPR, unless there are smaller airfields in the country).

Thank you all so much!

KHFD, KMMK

Have you seen this ?
http://albcontrol.al/al/
and this ?
http://www.ead.eurocontrol.int/eadbasic/eais-69AC0B28C65484EF5737E9867532D1EF/VTGW3CJ2KFUWS/EN/2014-05-29-AIRAC/html/index.html?show=eAIP/LA-AD-2.LATI-en-GB.html
Seems there is no other open airport in Albania except Rinas.Heard that compulsory basic handling is 150Euros except the airport fees.

Last Edited by MedFlyer at 16 Jul 17:08
LGGG

MedFlyer, thank you so much for the link. EAD is very helpful, it looks like a PA28 shouldbt cost any more than 80€ for landing + handling which I guess can be accepted for landing at essentially… a class C airport? class B? I have no clue haha.

KHFD, KMMK

I think the 2006 article was mine

I found ATC in Albania totally professional and speaking excellent English – as I have found them in subsequent years when overflying Albania.