Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Flying in France - should I PPR

I am a UK home pilot and will be venturing to France for a short tour, my first into France apart from an over the channel to Le Touquet and return. The intended trip is Sleap EGCV, Cherbourg, Angers, Perigueux, Perpignan return by Perigueux, La Rochelle, Cherbourg, Sleap EGCV.

What is the general procedure for flying into an airfield in France (apart from Cherbourg which would be notified by flight plan from the UK).

Do I telephone for a PPR, arrive with radio contact or file a fight plan (even though I’m now domestic).

Regards John

EGCV Sleap, United Kingdom

The vast majority of aerodromes in France are of the “public” category, meaning no prior permission nor contact is required. The French term for it is “ouvert à la CAP” and you easily check for this phrase on the “Cartes VAC” in the AIP.

Mind you that if prior permission or contact is required, filing a flightplan does nothing for that.

Also mind you that, flying in from the UK, your first landing needs to be at a customs aerodrome; but I think Cherbourg is ok there.

There have been repeated warnings that, given the increased security following terrorist attacks in FR and BE, identity checks are performed at certain French fields, even on Intra-Schengen flights. Check elsewhere on this forum.

NB for checking French fields, few websites beat www.navigeo.org

Last Edited by at 08 Jul 09:44
EBZH Kiewit, Belgium

Both Corsican (LFKF and LFKB) airports I’ve visited recently require parking PPR. But, probably, that’s seasonal.

EVCA

I would always check the AIP for any PNR/PPR details, even for intra-schengen flights. Such a requirement will be rare in France, for intra-schengen flights, however.