Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

CAA v CASA log books

Hi all,

Not sure if this is the correct forum but as I am a student I have included it here.

I am Australian and have recently started flying here in the UK after a long hiatus of 17 years. I would prefer not to have to get a new log book as I am sure everyone agrees they are great part of your own life and documentation of your flying experience. Starting a new one or transposing information is not something I would like to do.

The data collected is pretty much the same between the two styles however the most noticeable difference is the inclusion of departure (engine on?) and arrival time columns in the CAA log book. (when I say CAA I am basically just referring to a Pooleys log book).

Is it a requirement of CAA to include these arrival and departure times? In Australia I would use the aircraft Hobbs meter to determine time and would log 1.0 for 1 hour in the flight time column rather than entering 11:15z | 12:15z | 1 hour

we also never logged number of landings which is another column I see in the local books.

thanks
Tim

Hi Tim,

As far as I know, the requirements for a log book are not specified that much in detail. I’m not sure if e.g. there is a requirement to record landings.

My log book is American but my license is UK CAA – they never complained (license issuance, revalidation etc.). I’m recording off-block to on-block times in UTC. I never use Hobbs time unless required for payment of a chartered aircraft, but it will never appear in my log book.

Hungriger Wolf (EDHF), Germany

Patrick wrote:

As far as I know, the requirements for a log book are not specified that much in detail. I’m not sure if e.g. there is a requirement to record landings.