Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

UK CAA AME Issues post MARS/CELLMA Intergration

I changed AME rather stupidly. This has opened a can of worms so big, that I now have to pay out a lot of money.

A couple of things without going into much detail yet; AME wants original medicals before issuing.

CAA chases previous AME for medical reports. CAA submits and migrates information from previous medical systems, believes that this should suffice and AME can issue me my Class 2, even the Duty MA recommending this.

Anyway, AME changed the goalposts this morning. Demanding the CAA do a few things to me, even though I am a high-hour pilot and very safe. (AME’s words – although I am sure legally he cannot say I am unsafe) – with his bee in the bonnet with the CAA (Nothing personal towards me he says and that I am unfortunately being had over) – he makes it worse by CC’ing in the Chief Medical Officer of the CAA along with various other subjects to make his point clear – even recommending that maybe I should be grounded till this takes place.

AME also personally emailed me and stated that I will now have to pay him more for him to issue me a Class 2 – Because it’s a complex case. Get ****ed!

They all have a meeting and unfortunately make it very clear that, I must now follow this AME’s recommendations and that I have to
a) Fly with a CFI on a Medical Flight Test (The IR Revalidation with a CAA TRE holds no weight apparently, despite the MFT being extremely basic)
b) Pay hundreds to see an Orphalmogical consultant.

However, the CAA has made it very clear in bold that I continue to exercise the privileges of my license whilst this is ongoing. They have not given me an expiry date, but I have little or no choice at a great expense to follow this through. Caching ££££.