Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Unlikely, but this seems as good a place as any to start

I’m a USA pilot, utterly spoiled by the state of General Aviation here, and at the very early stages of considering the “hop across the pond”, and spending some time in Europe. Surprisingly, I’m far less intimidated by the crossing than the flying around once I get there. I’m thinking that if the airframe and engine are in good condition, I get some appropriate training, and make sure my insurance is up-to-date, the mechanics of it should be straightforward.

But once I’m there scares me. Subtly different regulations, unpredictable user fees, language issues, charts and databases… it can seem a bit overwhelming when looked at all at once. Can anyone recommend some resources for getting started – I’m sure I’m not the first person to be in this situation, and I imagine there must be some books or other places to get started.

The airplane will be a Socata Trinidad – single engine, but probably with a better maintenance infrastructure in the EU than here in the US.

Thoughts, comments, suggestions – all are welcome.

Larry Rachman
E Falmouth, MA USA

PS – A pleasant "What are you, crazy??!! would also be an acceptable response.

5B6 (USA)

Hi Larry,
flying around here is – while not a piece of cake in some countries – pretty simple in many. In the UK, France and Germany you will have no language issues if you use the “english speaking” airports, and there’s many. In Germany it’s practically every airport with a 3000 ft runway.
Let Peter answer you in Detail about every aspect flying a TB20 here – but if you need a contact, information, places to sleep, car in souther Germany, let me know.

all the best
Alexis

Larry, it isn’t as bad as reading some of the posts would lead you to believe. It is clearly harder that the US however but none of it is insurmountable. Are you instrument rated? If so many of the problems go away.