Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

What contributes to which amount of drag ? / speed improvements

Having a background as a glider pilot I am thinking about to what extent we are able to reduce drag on our planes, to either increase speed or reduce fuel burn. Maybe we can identify and summarize some easy things which really help reducing drag. However, I’ve not come to it and it seems like near-impossible to nail some particular thing down that might increase speed.

As a very basic example, and as my starting point for this, I played a bit with my cowl flaps and found out, that if I opened my cowl flaps I’ll get about the same speed / engine temp as with cowl flaps closed but ~5% lower power setting. It amounts to ~0.4 Gal/h higher fuel flow with open cowl flaps or about 5 knots difference on same ~52% power setting. Now these big flaps are very obvious. But what are results from other factors?

When there is dirt on the leading edge of the wing this supposedly contributes to about 5% of drag in a glider, which is why wing wipers are used in competition gliders. However, the influence on a glider with the highly effective wing will be much higher. I suppose that the percentage is far less on more draggy and thicker wings, like practically all SEPs tend to have, more like 0.5%. I wasn’t able to notice any difference after a long low-level flight where I had so many insects there that the leading edge was close to being all black. With icing it seems to be very visible but other than that seems to be a non-issue. Other opinions?

Some topics were already discussed here, for instance influence of antennae on speed, or a long discussion about flying on the step where a change in AOA improves speed.