Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Devon to Gap Tallard by microlight, looking for some route/airfield suggestions please

Hello,

I’m a relatively new microlight pilot and, after flying around the UK for a year or so, I’m looking to expand my horizons and head out into France next summer. My plan is to do the mountain flying course run out of Gap Tallard airfield. I’m just starting to look into route options and airfields to refuel and stay over night on the way there and back. I fly a skyranger microlight, usually travel at 80mph and have a range of 4-5 hours max, though I generally try to fly no more than 3-4 hour legs.

As I have a rotax 912 engine, I’d be hoping to find either airfields with UL91 available or, preferably, a petrol station close enough to the airfield to walk over with the fuel bladders I carry and fill up with regular unleaded.

I’m probably going to allow 4 days each way to give a weather buffer and so I’m not flying too much each day so any suggestions on pretty routes or good airfields where I can overnight camp or refuel would be most appreciated. As I’m in Devon I’ll probably aim to cross the channel going out from near Plymouth, then north of Alderney and ashore near Cherbourg Manche unless weather looks poor for being overwater that long in which case I’ll run along the coast to near Dover and go over there.

Any suggestions would be gratefully received. Thanks.

United Kingdom

Many pilots will shy away from the longer water crossing you describe.
I tend not to, but may if my route really is not compromised.
For the distance you are travelling anyway, I’d be tempted to do the Dover crossing, and build that into my trip from the beginning.