Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Flight testing of new Garmin avionics installation

I am having my Cessna 172N avionics upgraded at Solent Airport, due to complete around 5th April. The main features are the installation of a Garmin GTN650 and dual G5s.

The GTN650 requires a post installation flight check, which I feel would overstretch my capabilities at this time. I am a novice PPL with no experience of such ‘advanced’ avionics. To compound matters I have never flown in UK airspace, having obtained my PPL in Mediterranean Europe.

The actual checks (see below) do appear quite straightforward for a more experienced IR pilot familiar with the GTN. I am thinking of procuring the assistance of such a pilot, as passenger or P1, to carry out the checks.

Comments? Suggestions?

Thanks!

Christopher

GPS Flight Check
1. Verify that GPS position is not lost during normal aircraft manoeuvring (e.g. bank angles up to 30 degrees and pitch angles associated with take-off, departures, approaches, landing and missed approaches as applicable).
2. Enter and activate a flight plan on the GTN by pressing the Direct-To button and entering a waypoint. Fly the flight plan and verify that the display of flight plan data is consistent with the CDI indication (deviation, TO/FROM…) in the pilot’s primary field of view.

VHF COM Flight Check
To check the communications transceiver, maintain an appropriate altitude and contact a ground station facility at a range of at least 50 nautical miles. Contact a ground station in close proximity. Press the COM volume knob to select manual squelch and listen for any unusual electrical noise, which would increase the squelch threshold. If possible, verify the communications capability on both the high, low and mid bands of the VHF COM band.

VOR Flight Check
1. Tune a local VOR station within 50 miles.
2. Verify the AUDIO IDENT and VOICE QUALITY have no objectionable electrical interference such as magneto noise.