Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Flying across Germany to the Alps

I’m planning a VFR flight from the south of Sweden, across Germany and then to LOWZ. I’m planning on flying in January, and I’m giving myself a three day interval to fly out on, and if I actually manage to fly out I have at least a four day interval to get home on, even though, at that point it has to take whatever time it takes I guess. Nevertheless, I have a few questions that hopefully someone around here can answer.

My two different routes that I have planned are both across Berlin class C airspace. Is it Bremen Information that grants clearance to cross Berlin CTA? Does anyone know if there’s a good chance I’ll be given a clearance or is it more likely that I will have to fly around Berlin?

And, when I get to the alps, my plan is to follow the A56 Gafor route from Salzburg to LOWZ. I’ve never used Gafor routes before, and I can’t find much useful information anywhere about how they actually work. I wonder, can I enter a route anywhere, or do I have to join the route at certain points? At what altitude should I fly? In skydemon I can see what the reference altitude is, what does that mean?

Skydemon also lists the airspace around LOWZ as C CTA, but class E. What does that mean, is it class C or Class E airspace? The Austria VFR aeronautical chart is just as confusing, stating that it is CTA C `E` 7500 (1000 AGL) – FL125.

Anyway, hopefully someone can answer all or some of these questions, and any other advice about this trip would also be very much appreciated!
Thank you!

Pretty new at this
ESTL, Sweden

JoakimHermansson wrote: