Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Flying near Poitiers or Bordeaux

Hello All,
My name is Mitch and I live in Las Vegas, NV, USA.
I am coming to France and staying with some friends who have a place in Poitier. I am a private pilot with over 1600 hRs. and own a Cessna 182RG. I would very much like to be able to fly while I am visiting my friends there. I will be in France from April 13 to the 19th.
Does anyone or can anyone let me know whom I could contact to get a flight in while I am there.

Thanks
Mitch

Hi Mitch

Just a quick look on Google.
There 2 flying club in Poitiers:
http://www.aero-club-poitou.fr
http://www.acaspttpoitiers.fr

Send them a email and book a flight with a flight instructor.

Romain

LFPT Pontoise, LFPB

@JoJo may be able to help in the Bordeaux end… or @Bordeaux_Jim

LFPT, LFPN

As a US’an, do not expect everybody to speak or understand English. And even if some do, their accent may be quite funny to you, at least. Remember they’ll think the same about you! I think you had better stick to the bigger fields where English is normally not a problem.

EBZH Kiewit, Belgium

There’s an excellent flying club at Limoges with an English instructor (Roger).

PM me for contact details if you’re interested, although it might be a bit far away.

EGEO

I have never been to Bordeaux LFBD but it has not had avgas for a long time. Here is the current notam:

FUEL AVGAS 100LL NOT AVBL : NOTAM LF/A0673/16

Poitiers LFBI I have been to a number times. No issues except that at times there is nobody around on the ground (who speaks English) and a couple of times I was not able to get off airside, until I made some calls to ATC. That can be the situation at numerous French provincial airports where a lot of the staff go home after the last Ryanair (etc) flight departs. I last had that in Bastia, Corsica (France) in Sept 2015.

There are other airfields in the area, with aeroclubs. Whether they do self fly hire I have no idea.

Administrator