Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

How many hours to transition to a new non-complex SEP type for day VFR operations?

I did a checkout on a C182 last week. I had no previous high wing aircraft experience.
We did some forced landings and 5 circuits (2 normal, 2 flapless and 1 glide in). 55 minutes total.

I have 470 hours PIC.

A checkout where you have to fly a minimum of 5 hours for a non-complex SEP is ridiculous.

Slightly OT, but finally (the night before) I decided to rent my regular Arrow (HA-SFK) last Saturday and asked a some friends and family members whether they wanted to come with me on the positioning legs (LHNY-LHBS and return). It turned out that an ex-colleague had always wanted to try flying in small plane, knew that I was a pilot, but for some reason never asked me before. I was glad to be able to offer her this opportunity to take two rather long flights, which she very much enjoyed. So, at the end, I did not “waste” any legs, gained a new potential pax for future flights and had an incredibly good day.

As far as those outfits are concerned with their 4-5-hour-long checkouts for a C172, they will not get any business from me until they take a more reasonable position.

Hajdúszoboszló LHHO

lenthamen wrote:

Pilots that cruise at low VFR altitudes will probably always fly with mixture full rich.

Which means they have not been properly trained how to use it.

LSZH(work) LSZF (GA base), Switzerland

Pilots that cruise at low VFR altitudes will probably always fly with mixture full rich.

That is because they were taught the engine would explode if they touch the red knob below 5000’. The engine should be leaned at any altitude.

LFPT, LFPN

Would I strictly legally need flight hours to transition to a C152/C172 (as mentioned further above my FI reckons about one hour of training for me)?

No. A mixture lever is not considered “complex”.