Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Looking to finish PPL, a bit stuck

Please excuse the long post, or if this isn’t the right place for it, but I feel I’m at a road junction and don’t know which road to take.

I’m studying for PPL while having a demanding job and I’m now halfway through my PPL, passed several exams and will very soon have enough hours for the skill test.

For me the problem lies in the way the exams are organized at my school, and I don’t know if it’s me underestimating the theory or the way the current school is currently setting us up for success at the exams. We were given Pooley’s Books and ground school was all around them too, while the real exams (Austro Control) have some weird (or needlessly complicated) translations and phrasing (e.g. from memory “Relative Airflow” in Pooley’s Books vs A.C. in the exams calls it “Direction of Airflow”, or “Polished Section” vs “Moveable Inner Cylinder” when talking about the landing gear). Sometimes questions in the real exam talk about topics that aren’t found in the books I was given as the ground school responsible confirmed, or topics in the books aren’t discussed as much in detail for you to be able to answer such a specific question in the exam.

And while you might say, sure, just learn 100% the books and you’ll be knowledgeable enough to understand these translation quirks and pass, I feel this isn’t the purpose of the Pooley’s Books because I seem to do better in apps like PPL Tutor, which more closely follow Pooley’s Books (UK) with questions phrased in an English that is much more clear to me, than I do in the exam which follows A.C. way of teaching and terminology (I later found out of dedicated books for people taking the A.C. exams, although in English there’s just one from the PPL and the rest are ATPL).