Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

SERA: no IFR in G in Germany

SERA and national rules are built on ICAO through additions, exemptions or specifications, the same goes for SERA. SERA is certainly a substitute for national rules (in Norway SERA is already in effect, since November 13). However, there is a long list of exemptions and additions.

The elephant is the circulation
ENVA ENOP ENMO, Norway

That is true. SERA does not substitute the ICAO Rules of the Air. SERA substitutes each country’s national Rules of the Air (or however they may call it).

Mainz (EDFZ) & Egelsbach (EDFE), Germany

SERA is purposely made to allow for local “variations”. Essentially SERA is ICAO Annex 2, 3 and 11 rewritten in EASA language. All together it is current regulations written in a common syntax, rather than a new set of rules. It is very little new there, and what is new is mostly details, and those details can be “localized” in any case.

I’m not an expert on this, but I don’t think that’s accurate. Correct me if I’m wrong, but:

There is a significant difference between ICAO and SERA.

ICAO’s recommendations are, well, recommendations, are they not? As such, they do indeed allow for local variations – ideally filed and published as differences, but not necessarily so, as I believe the US, among others, have proven to a large extent.

SERA comes as a EU regulation and as such is binding law within the member states as soon as it becomes valid. It cannot be localized “in any case”, as you put it. It can be localized if and only if the specific article specifically allows for such variations.

With respect to the subject originally discussed in this thread, that is not the case.

Hungriger Wolf (EDHF), Germany

It is very little new there, and what is new is mostly details, and those details can be “localized” in any case.

The really new stuff are the VFR night rules.

ESKC (Uppsala/Sundbro), Sweden