Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

What to bring an a week long VFR trip through Europe

Thanks all so far! I copied a lot of the (lighter ) items from here to my “what-to-pack” list. I did leave out the oxygen, toolkit, and the spare aircraft.

I’m not convinced about the oxygen on such a VFR trip in a Cessna. I’m not planning on flying at altitudes where oxygen is a must and for the legs where it might be a nice add-on as a fatigue blocker – I guess I’ll just have to plan shorter legs and save the weight and hassle of oxygen. Also, I have no experience with oxygen supplies.

What next is right, this will be a chartered or club aircraft. Besides, me messing around with a broken plane and a toolkit? Will probably make things worse.

It’s funny so many have mentioned the spare credit card, ID/passport etc. My wallet was stolen a few days ago in my home town and I’m hoping to get all cards back in place before the trip. Having said that, we are two people, so there’s always a second person with a second set of credit cards, cash supply, driver’s license etc.

Cheers!

Hungriger Wolf (EDHF), Germany

As far as I understand Rhino, his flight is going to be undertaken with a D- registered club or chartered aeroplane. One is generally not supposed to perform any maintenance other than topping-up the oil on those oneself. So hauling along starter motors, alternators, battery relays and the associated tools is not really necessary…

EDDS - Stuttgart

In my about 15 years of flying the only equipment that broke and had to be fixed off-base was an alternator (in a TB20…) and a turn coordinator (in a PA28). Of course both times on multi-leg flights abroad. Fortunately, in both cases I was on an airport with a maintenance facility that could replace the parts overnight.

ESKC (Uppsala/Sundbro), Sweden