Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Glidepath on 2D approaches

huv wrote:

But as an instructor, I find that IFR students and pilots spend (too) much time and energy trying to understand this – because before CDFA, everyone understood the difference between DA and MDA.

It becomes clear if you consider that the difference has to do with flight technique. When you use a DA, you go missed when that altitude is reached unless you have the necessary visual references. When you use a MDA, you level off at that altitude and go missed at the MAPt unless you have the necessary visual references.

Before the advent of CDFA, the flight technique depended on the approach type so that precision approaches were always flown with a DA and non-precision approaches were always flown with a MDA. With CDFA you can choose the flight technique for a non-precision approach.

(Technically speaking you have to check for the MAPt also when flying a CDFA, but in practise you will reach the DA well before reaching the MAPt unless you seriously mishandle your descent.)

ESKC (Uppsala/Sundbro), Sweden

bookworm wrote:

Thanks for the pointer to the FSIMS search page — OpSpec easily found. Do you have a reference to the MITRE study you mention please? A quick search of their tech pubs came up blank.

No, but i know the individual who managed the reports and I have a copy. Send me a PM and I will locate them and send to you directly.

KUZA, United States

NCYankee wrote:

There are two ways the CDFA is typically flown, one using CDFA as a method to arrive at the MDA, and then fly level at the MDA to the MAP.

This would not fall within the CDFA definition used in Europe: