Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

How does Eurocontrol IFR (with an IR) work in the UK - tips and tricks

Tips & tricks for IFR from uncontrolled airspace in the UK? Specifically Cambridge EGSC.

I’m planning an IFR flight to Cambridge and back, but I have zero practical experience with how the UK deals with IFR OCAS. All the times I’ve been IFR to the UK it was on airways to a controlled airport so I didn’t have to deal with this. The way there seems reasonably simple for a foreigner, based on what Autorouter and Foreflight come up with I would file EHAM VALK2G IDRID L980 LOGAN EGSC all at FL100. The LOGAN 2A arrival into EGSC looks like you can just fly it and only become uncontrolled (but still radar?) on the way to the approach and it wouldn’t really matter. Or am I missing something here?

Autorouter for this trip also shows a few lower level options (as low as FL040). But if I understood Peter’s previous posts on this, that has a high risk to be handed to London Info and then no longer being in the IFR system as soon as you reach UK airspace.

Then the way back is where I’m not sure I understand all the local specifics. There don’t seem to be normal SIDs out of EGSC, but Jeppesen shows a “Via ADNAM” option. If I file “EGSC DCT ADNAM DCT CLN L620 REDFA EHAM” at FL100, am I doing something totally against local customs or should this just work?

And to fly that, I think it means departing IFR in class G (strictly verboten in my country :-)) then in the air trying to get an IFR clearance? That would need to be done before the “ADNAM DCT CLN” part because that enters controlled airspace quickly after ADNAM. Who do you ask for that? And do you just climb to the requested FL100 straight after take off? Or is that bad form and you level off below controlled airspace somewhere before asking for the clearance?