Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

New iPad EFB available: UkRunways

I have been using OzRunways for a couple years and I like it a lot.
I hope that UkRunways will prove to be as good (and as popular) as its "older Antipodean brother" :)

YSCB

Looks like a nice app.

How can it be free?

The 3 UK 1:500k maps are about £50 to buy. I don't recall the Memory Map price for them but it is similar.

Otherwise it looks a much nicer GPS moving map for the UK charts than Memory Map which is badly implemented on the Ipad.

Any plans to do European charts? This I think is a real marketing issue because even if most people don't go abroad much, they are reluctant to spend money (or time) on a product which doesn't cover all their requirements.

This for example is why I continue to use Navbox for VFR flight planning. It has all of Europe. It is naff as a GPS moving map but is fine as a ground based VFR planner (in conjunction with the "real" printed charts obviously).

Also, have you done an overlay database of waypoints? If you are running the UK charts, they are not available as a layered database, so for flight planning, where you want to be able to click on say an airport and load it into a flight plan, you need a database so that the app can recognise that the spot you clicked on the map is an airport - etc.

Administrator
Shoreham EGKA, United Kingdom

@Peter.

I suggest you "have a play" with OzRunways (download from Apple Store for a free 30-day trial). I imagine the aim is for UkRunwys (and EuRunways ?!) to provide similar functionality as OzRunways app offers today.

PS I use OzRunways with the IFR upgrade. At AU$100 for a 12-month subscription it is almost exactly 1/3rd of the price one has to pay for a subscription to JeppView Electronic Charts for Australia.

YSCB