Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Dijon Darois (LFGI) - 1 day camping tolerated?

10 Posts

Good morning,

does anybody know if camping (tent) for 1 or 2 nights would be tolerated there?

Rgds

Hi,

I’ve posted the question on my various social media pages and should get a response soon.

James

LFCS (Bordeaux Léognan Saucats)

thank you very much, James!!

Since there is no hotel or other offer of overnight accommodation on or near the field, I don’t think you could offend anyone. Long live the French and their strong tradition of “live and let live” ! I would suggest you land there and simply pitch tent, then wait for a couple of hours to see if anybody turns up in protest. If not, you’ll be fine, otherwise, time to deploy your plan B.
But mind you: this advice is worth as much as you paid for it, and I have no local knowledge or experience.

EBZH Kiewit, Belgium

I would suggest you land there and simply pitch tent, then wait for a couple of hours to see if anybody turns up in protest. If not, you’ll be fine, otherwise, time to deploy your plan B.

I would advise caution on this front.

At Saucats, for example, camping is banned by the local council due to an incident a couple of years ago when about 50 travellers took over the whole airfield :

Hi,
Stayed in this place when we picked up our MCR kit a couple of years ago. about 2km from LFGI.

http://www.lafermeducoucou.fr/

translates to something like the cucko’s nest. Well we got out without being lobotomised, When they found out we drove non stop 1700 km with a large trailer they realised it would not make a difference who knows.. :)

ESG..., Sweden

Actually “Cuckoo Farm” – not that it matters much.
But was there anybody on the field keeping watch?

EBZH Kiewit, Belgium

Sent a PM.

Couple of bits of info I got thanks to the wonders of social media :

Response (translated and summarised)) from Stéphane, member of Dijon Darois flying club :