Menu Sign In Contact FAQ
Banner
Welcome to our forums

Instructing with OML Restriction

Hello guys and gals,

I’m digging up this post because I’m in a similar situation and I would greatly appreciate help from people with knowledge about the OML/OSL subject.

I’m a french pilot and I have been subject to FAF medical admission then re approval for 5 years, then class 1 civil for 7 more years until late 2013.
But I’ve been recently discovered a hidden electrical heart problem, with absolutely no apparent symptoms. I have a normal life, doctors just can’t prove I’m have same risk as normal population, so my class 1 have been restricted to OML and my class 2 to OSL.

I already have a valid FI (a), 100h instructing and 25 solo supervised done, so “full” FI with no restriction about it.

I would like to know what can I exactly do with OML and OSL restrictions, or where to find accurate and up to date informations about it.

Examples :
- PPL instructing is allowed after first solos ? Or does the students need to have the PPL/LAPL to let me instruct them (students building hours for a modular CPL)
- instructing navigation for PPL is allowed ? Post 1st navigation only?
- CPL instructing is allowed when student know/ doesn’t know the aircraft ? Have to be PPL (like modular atpl) or ab-initio students, post solos are allowed ?
- Am I allowed to become captain on a type rated aircraft ? ( I have no OCL restriction)

I am living a nightmare since my problem was discovered and moreover I stopped instructing because of it.
Recently I have been refused to do a selection for a First Officer candidacy in an airline because of the OML restriction… It scares them or they refuse to take responsability…
I would like to clear the things out because I need to know if ever will be employed again to be instructor in GA or first officer on a multi crew aircraft to do medevacs or public transport.

Thanks for your time, I hope to get some informations.